6 Indonesian Representatives in 5 Nomination of BWF Player of The Year 2019

Six Indonesian badminton representatives were included in the nomination list of five BWF Player of the Year 2019 award. They were Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan, Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, Leo Rolly Carnando / Daniel Marthin, Praveen Jordan / Melati Daeva Oktavianti, Leani Ratri Oktila, and Dheva Anrimusthi.

The entry of the those players to the list of nominations for the best BWF 2019 players is inseparable from the achievements they made this year. Ahsan / Hendra and Marcus / Kevin were nominated for the 2019 Male Player of the Year category. This opportunity is the first for Ahsan / Hendra. As for Marcus / Kevin, they have the opportunity to win this award for the third time in a row after success in 2017 and 2018.

“Yes, I don’t expect I can enter the nomination. Maybe they mean for the best old player.”, Hendra said, as quoted from the Indonesian Badminton website. Throughout 2019, Ahsan / Hendra won the 2019 World Champion, 2019 All England champion, and 2019 New Zealand Open champion, as well as seven runner-up titles in Super 1000, Super 750 and Super 500 level tournaments. Besides Ahsan / Hendra and Marcus / Kevin, Kento Momota (Japan) and Zheng Si Wei (China) also fall into this category.

Meanwhile, the Leo / Daniel pair who successfully won the Asia Junior Championships 2019 and World Junior Championships 2019 this year were included in the 2019 Most Promising Player of the Year nomination list. In this category, Leo / Daniel will compete with An Se Young ( Korea), Koki Watanabe (Japan) and Kantaphon Wangcharoen (Thailand). “We did not expect it, because I personally do not have expectations until that stage too. Because we keep trying to give the best, “said Daniel Marthin.

Praveen / Melati is included in the 2019 list of Most Improved Player of the Year nominations, the pair of five world ranking mixed doubles will compete with Michelle Li (Canada), Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty (India) and Kim So Yeong / Kong Hee Yong Yong (Korea).

Of the six representatives, two of them are Indonesian parabadminton athletes. Leani Ratri Oktila was once again included in the 2019 Female Badminton Player of the Year nomination list. Throughout 2019, Leani successfully won a total of 12 gold medals, two silver and one bronze. Moreover, Dheva Anrimusthi was listed as a nominee in the 2019 Male Player of the Year Badminton category.

The winner of the 2019 BWF Player of the Year will be announced in Guangzhou, China, next Monday (9/12/2019). The following is a complete list of BWF Player of the Year 2019 nominations:

Male Player of the Year
Kento Momota (Japan, men’s singles)
Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesian, men’s doubles)
Zheng Siwei (China, mixed doubles)
Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan (Indonesian, men’s doubles)

Female Player of the Year
Tai Tzu Ying (Taiwan, women’s singles)
Huang Yaqiong (Chinese, mixed doubles)
Yuki Fukushima / Sayaka Hirota (Japanese, women’s doubles)
Chen Qingchen / Jia Yifan (China, women’s doubles)

Most Promising Player of the Year
An Se-young (South Korea, women’s singles)
Koko Watanabe (Japanese, men’s singles)
Leo Rolly Carnando / Daniel Marthin (Indonesian, men’s doubles)
Kantaphon Wangcharoen (Thailand, men’s singles)

Male ParaBadminton Player of the Year
Lucas Mazur (French) Qu Zimo (China)
Pramod Bhagat (India)
Dheva Anrimusthi (Indonesia)

Female Para Badminton Player of the Year
Sarina Satomi (Japan)
Liu Yutong (China)
Leani Ratri Oktila (Indonesia)
Ayako Suzuki (Japan)

Most Improved Player of the Year
Michelle Li (Canada, women’s singles)
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty (Indian, men’s doubles)
Kim So-yeong / Kong Hee-yong (South Korea, women’s doubles)
Praveen Jordan / Melati Daeva Oktavianti (Indonesian, mixed doubles)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *