Euro 2020 Results: Spain vs Poland ends in a draw

Spain had to settle for a 1-1 draw against Poland at Euro 2020 (Euro 2021).

Spain managed to take the lead through Alvaro Morata’s goal in the 25th minute. Morata continued Gerard Moreno’s pass.

Morata’s goal was denied by the linesman who raised the offside flag. However, after referee Daniel Orsato saw the VAR monitoring, the goal was confirmed and Spain won 1-0.

Poland’s efforts to catch up and equalize only paid off in the second half. In the 54th minute, a cross that was released by Kamil Jozwiak was successfully headed by Robert Lewandowski. The ball rolled into the bottom right corner of the Spanish goal without being able to stop by Unai Simon.

In the 58th minute, Spain got a penalty after the referee considered Gerard Moreno violated by Jakub Moder in the forbidden box.

Moreno stepped up to take the penalty but his shot hit the post. Morata who got a wild ball failed to capitalize on the opportunity and his shot went wide of the target.

In the 84th minute, Spain again had a good chance to score. But Poland goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny managed to stem the ball and thwart it into the net.

The 1-1 score lasted until the end of the game.

This draw makes Spain occupy third place in the standings with 2 points from two matches.

Meanwhile, Poland is still stuck in the bottom position of Group E with a score of 1 point after they fell 1-2 in their inaugural match to Slovakia.

Meanwhile, Sweden managed to shift the position of Slovakia from the top of the standings in Group E.

This certainty was obtained after Sweden beat Slovakia with a score of 1-0 at the Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg, Saturday (19/6).

The victory lifted Sweden’s position to the top of Group E by collecting four points.

Meanwhile, Slovakia had to drop to the runner-up position with a collection of three points after winning the inaugural match over Poland.


Spain (4-3-3)

Unai Simon; Marcos Llorente, Aymeric Laporte, Pau Torres, Jordi Alba; Koke (Pablo Sarabia 68), Rodri, Pedri; Gerard Moreno (Fabian 68), Alvaro Morata (Mikael Oryazabal 87), Daniel Olmo (Ferran Torres 61)

Poland (3-4-2-1)

Wojciech Szczesny; Bartosz Bereszynski, Kamil Glik, Jan Bednarek; Kamil Jozwiak, Jakub Moder (Karol Linetty 85), Mateusz Klich (Kacper Kozlowski 55), Tymoteusz Puchacz; Karol Swiderski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *