Real Madrid vs Barcelona: Messi’s Request to the Referee During the Match

Lionel Messi reportedly asked referee Jesus Gil Manzano, who led the El Clasico match between Real Madrid versus Barcelona while the match was running, Sunday (11/4/2021) early morning WIB at the Alfredo Di Stefano Stadium. The Argentine superstar demanded that the match leader lead the match with respect.

Drama has already occurred ahead of the Madrid match against Barcelona in the 2020-2021 Spanish League season. The league operator suddenly replaced referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz with Gil Manzano.

Manzano has come under the spotlight for giving Messi a red card during the Spanish Super Cup final in January 2021 against Athletic Bilbao. He sent Messi away after seeing a replay via VAR, after the megastar appeared to be fighting over the ball with players and pushing opponents. In that match, Barcelona defeated with a score of 3-2.

Meanwhile, the COPE Cadena report said Messi did not like some of Manzano’s decisions when Barcelona faced Real Madrid. He asked Manzano to pay respect to the match.

Despite Messi’s words to the referee, Barcelona bowed to his rivals. Karim Benzema opened Madrid’s advantage in the 13th minute. Welcoming a pass from Lucas Vazquez, the French striker struck with a flick of the heel of his right foot to outwit goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Meanwhile, Madrid’s second goal was scored by Toni Kross through the execution of a free kick in the 28th minute. The ball hit Sergino Dest’s back and failed to be cleared by Jordi Alba who was guarding the goal line.

Meanwhile, Barcelona was only able to reply in the 60th minute. Mingueza scored a reply after welcoming Alba’s cross.

The match was running tight and hard making the referee issue a red card for Casemiro in the 90th minute. He was sent off after receiving a second yellow card after breaking Mingueza.

After the match, Barca coach Ronald Koeman considered that his team should have received a penalty. According to him, Braithwaite was violated by Mendy in a restricted area. However, Manzano did not see it as a violation and did not choose to see a replay on VAR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *