Williamson named Cricketer of the Year

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson has been named New Zealand Cricketer of the Year.
Williamson won the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the second year in a row at the annual awards dinner in Auckland tonight.
Along with the top award, Williamson also won the Redpath Cup for first-class batting and was named Twenty20 Player of the Year.
Williamson led the Black Caps to one of their most successful home summers with test series wins over Pakistan and Bangladesh.
He scored four test centuries and equalled the record for most test centuries by a New Zealander – 17 – a record he shares with Martin Crowe.
Williamson averaged 59.94 in tests, with a high score of 176, while also averaging more than 50 in the Twenty20 format with 52.66.
Pace bowler Neil Wagner was named test player of the year.
Wagner took 56 wickets from 13 Tests, the second highest aggregate in New Zealand test history after Sir Richard Hadlee’s 64 in 1985.
He also became the second fastest Black Cap to 100 Test wickets (26 matches), second once again to Sir Richard Hadlee (25 matches).
Wagner also won the first class bowling award, the Winsor Cup, while batsman Martin Guptill was named one day player of the year.
Guptill scored 570 runs at an average of 47.50.
His 114 in Sydney against Australia and match-winning 180 not out against South Africa in Hamilton were among the highlights.
Amy Satterthwaite, who scored four consecutive centuries equalling the world record set by Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, was named women’s one day player of the year.
She scored a staggering 935 runs at an average of 103.88.
White Ferns captain Suzie Bates was named women’s T20 player of the year after leading New Zealand to a rare series win against Australia.
Taranaki Cricket Association life member Neil Sulzberger received the Bert Sutcliffe Medal Award for Outstanding Services to Cricket.
Having served as both a director and chairman of the Taranaki Cricket Association, Sulzberger’s influence in the Central Districts region has been felt across junior development, district administration, finance, sponsorship and officiating, with his service spanning over 50 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *