Zidane’s extraordinary record in Real Madrid

Zinedine Zidane managed to deliver Real Madrid to the 2019-2020 Spanish League champions. Zinedine Zidane has presented 11 trophies for Real Madrid as a coach. This achievement was extraordinary because Zidane won those in only 209 matches.

For Real Madrid, this is their 34th LaLiga trophy, as well as being the club who won most of this trophy in the Matador Land. They also managed to prevent Barcelona from winning the Spanish League hat-trick. Prior to this, Lionel Messi et al won LaLiga for two consecutive seasons, namely in 2017-2018, 2018-2019.

Zinedine Zidane was first appointed as Real Madrid coach in the 2015-2016 season. He replaced Rafal Benitez, who was sacked by club management. In the early days of his coaching, Zidane had the opportunity to bring Real Madrid champions of the Spanish League, but failed. The former Juventus playmaker then replaced it with a Champions League title for three consecutive seasons.

Had “dropped out” from Real Madrid in May 2018, Zidane returned to the club in March 2019 to replace Santiago Solari. Zidane was not fired, but really chosde not to continue the contract with Los Blancos. “Zidane is experiencing extreme mental exhaustion,” said Zidane’s agent, Alain Migliaccio in 2018.

When Zidane returned to Madrid, Real were in third position and 12 points behind Barcelona. Slowly, the sharpness of Real Madrid back, thanks to Zidane’s cold hands.

Initially, the 48-year-old coach was underestimated considering that Cristiano Ronaldo left Madrid. However, Zidane is a coach who is famous for all his experiments. Without Ronaldo, Zidane changed Karim Benzema from a blunt striker to a reliable bomber. Now, Los Blancos gets the world’s spotlight. His touch has not disappeared until successfully delivering Real Madrid to embrace their 34th LaLiga trophy this season.

“This is a beautiful and everlasting love story and that is why I am not surprised by the results it has and what is yet to come,” Perez said of the beginning of Zidane’s existence at Real Madrid in 2016.

Following are details of 11 Zidane trophies at Real Madrid as coach:
2 Spanish Leagues (2016-2017, 2019-2020)
2 Spanish Super Cups (2017-2018, 2019-2020)
2 European Super Cups (2016-2017, 2017-2018)
2 Club World Cup (2016-2017, 2017-2018)
3 Champions League (2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018)

Moreover, here is list of most Spanish league champions of all time:
Real Madrid (34)
Barcelona (26)
Atletico Madrid (10)
Athletic Bilbao (8)
Valencia (6)
Real Sociedad (2)
Real Betis, Sevilla, Deportivo La Coruna (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *